Search This Blog

Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Auburn Makes History Again!

Auburn coach Bruce Pearl. photo courtesy of OANews

Tuesday the SEC and its coaches announced the post season ALL-SEC TEAM. To the shock of many, and the ire of most Auburn fans, history was both made, and ignored. 

For the first time in the history of All Conference Team nominations, not one first place team player made the first team selection.

**“I’m disappointed for the first time since …1956 was when they started putting on first- and second-team All-SEC (teams) and there’s never been a regular season champion that didn’t have a player on the first-team until this year,” Pearl said Tuesday afternoon in a media conference.

From where I sit this Wednesday morning, just hours away from the start of the SEC Basketball Tournament, I can't help but wonder, why?

Why would the coaches break tradition? Why is this Auburn team being shunned? Even if the other coaches hold past grievances against Bruce Pearl, why vote against his players too?

It seems to me that just earning your way onto lists for postseason accolades is not enough. The voters, in this case SEC coaches, have to make some sort of statement with their vote, instead of remaining neutral. 

The AP seemingly understands that a conference can't have a first place team without at least one player being selected as All-Conference first team. 

***"Auburn’s Bryce Brown and Arkansas’ Daryl Macon joined Maten, Williams and Sexton as first-team all-SEC selections.
The second team includes Auburn teammates Jared Harper and Mustapha Heron, Arkansas’ Jaylen Barford, Florida’s Chris Chiozza and Missouri’s Kassius Robertson."

**- From the Montgomery Advertiser
***- From the Washington Post

No comments: